Top 4 through

Dasher or stone-waller - it doesn't matter how you get there. Melbourne and Prahran took the latter option, while Dandenong took the former. Ringwood is also through after David King's third century in the past five matches.

In next weekend's semis, the Demons take on the Panthers at the Albert Ground, while Prahran hosts the Rams at Toorak Park.

With so much time lost yesterday, the lower-ranked Saints, Blues and Heat all made bold declarations in a desperate bid to knock over their higher-ranked opposition.

Frankston Peninsula, resuming this morning on 6/98, scored briskly thanks to Matt Lineker (82) and Chris McCormick (35), who added 84 for the seventh wicket. Matt Chasemore declared at 8/179 soon after this partnership was broken, leaving a minimum 70 overs for the Demons to chase it down.

Melbourne's reply started shakily and, at 4/43 and 5/73, the Heat could sniff an upset. But skipper Andrew Kent (14 off 128 balls) and Matthew Brown (50no off 87 balls) dug in. Kent departed with 9.1 overs remaining, however and, in a gloomy, tense final few overs, Brown and the experienced Ash Middlin (7no off 29 balls) safely saw the Demons through.

The resumption of play at Toorak Park was further delayed by annoying showers this morning. Carlton, 4/69 overnight, took their total to 8/124 (Jake Hancock 52) before Tim Welsford da_king_100_qf2wdeclared. Prahran lost 3/25 with Steve De Bolfo also retired hurt before the experienced Dimitri Mascarenhas (24 off 107 balls) and Neil Schlittler (35no off 86 balls) saw the True Blues through to the draw at 4/81.

At Ringwood, the home side batted through until 6/260, when Fitzroy Doncaster skipper Lloyd Mash held up the white flag and conceded that the equation was beyond the Lions. Although Joe Loorham (70) was bowled by Peter Dickson in the first over today, David King (110) reached his eighth Premier century and saw the Rams to safety.

At Shepley Oval, St Kilda skipper Graeme Rummans declared at 5/163 after Andrew McGuinness (64) and he (73no) each made solid contributions. Rummans' innings took his season aggregate to 904 at 50.22 to become the leading Premier runscorer for 2012-13. Despite the early loss of Brett Forsyth (6), Tom Donnell (79 off 89 balls) and Charith Cooray (47) added 112 for the second wicket to seal the chase. Donnell's 79 took him ahead of Rummans, going to 909 runs at 47.47 for the season. The Panthers' win sees them head to the Albert Ground for next weekend's Semi Final.

In an amazing Quarter Final in the 3rds, Fitzroy Doncaster was staring down the barrel at 9/90 chasing Ringwood's 9/230. Skipper James Considine (68no) and Zac Parr (69no) then added an incredible unbroken 140 for the tenth wicket to draw the scores level, the match ending in a tie with Ringwood going through to the Semi Finals as a result of finishing fourth instead of fifth - a heart-breaking way to bow out for the Lions.

The Semi Finals in all grades next weekend will be as follows:

1sts - Melb v Dand at the Albert Ground, Prah v Ring at Toorak Parkmoore_bowls_qf2w
2nds - Prah v Melb Uni at Uni, Camb Mag v Melb at Camberwell
3rds - Melb v Ring at Ringwood, St K v Carl at St Kilda
4ths - Melb v Melb Uni, Camb Mag v Ring (venues tba)

All today's results are as follows:

Melb 6-142 (Brown 50no Miller 3-38) drew Frank Pen 8(dec)179 (Lineker 82 McCormick 35 Smith 3-37)
Prah 4-79 (Schlittler 35no Welsford 3-38) drew Carl 8(dec)124 (Hancock 60 Adams 4-50 Mascarenhas 3-34)
Ring 6-260 (DA King 110 Loorham 70 Moore 5-44) drew Fitz Donc
Dand 5-164 (Donnell 79 Cooray 47) d St K 5(dec)163 (McGuinness 64 Rummans 73no)

Prah 5-202 (Wild 83 Murphy 59no) drew Ring
Camb Mag 1-49 d Fitz Donc 48 (Dwyer 6-15 Mahon 4-13)
Melb 9-361 (Cooper 74 Paynter 86 Harper 96 Boyle 54) drew Foot Edge
Melb Uni 4-203 (Hutton 123no Shute 30) d St K 201 (Michelmore 72 van Cuylenburg 4-56)

Melb 190 (Tomkinson 47 Daly 35 Larter 34 Waring 4-24 Dhindsa 3-41) d N Melb 170 (Amin 65 Phogat 34 Janik 4-36 Daly 3-32)
St K 201 (Molan 37 Skurrie 40 Rayner 57no Westhorpe 4-47 Williams 4-47) d Geel 108 (Reid 41)
Carl 2-169 (Guercio 101no Gilbert 47) d Rich 6(dec)163 (Perry 67no McKenna 47no Knox 3-42 Colaco 3-42)
Ring 9(cc)230 (Court 56 Dineen 79no Sanderson 38 McCormack 3-69) tied Fitz Donc 9-230 (Considine 68no Parr 69no Stevens 3-18 Rushton 3-42)

Melb 313 (Minato 102 Walker 37 Goodman 30 Dang 3-39) drew Ncte 7-86 (Van Riet 5-28)lineker_qf2w
Camb Mag 8(cc)255 (Jayasinghe 42 McIntosh 56 Prior 42 Norbury 36 Oostermeyer 4-65) d St K 194 (Powell 34 Meddings 43 Varadajan 43 Fernando 5-22)
Ring 5(cc)286 (Mays 131 McElroy 47 Roger 32 McCartney 3-32) d Haw-Mon Uni 130 (Newman 3-27 Wade 3-28)
Melb Uni 3(cc)327 (Sivakumaran 150no Tonkin 143) d Geel 159 (H McMahon 31 Nice 5-22)























Click here to view the archive »

Feedback Form