2nds, 3rds & 4ths decided

In the Premier lower elevens, Camberwell Magpies (2nds), Melbourne (3rds) and Melbourne Uni (4ths) have all proved conclusive winners for premierships in those grades.

In the Seconds at Camberwell, Prahran's 209 yesterday (Shane Townsend 75, Rowan Bricker 65, Mark Dwyer 6/74, Jack McNamara 3/44) proved inadequate as Camberwell Magpies (5/213) chased the runs down comfortably. Michael McClean (63) and Glen Parker (35) set the win up and, although the runs dried up for a period, skipper Sam Parker (28no) and Amrith Eldridge (35no) saw the Magpies home with an unbroken 49-run stand for the sixth wicket. Paceman Mark Dwyer, with 6/74 for the Magpies, was adjudged player of the final.

In the Thirds at the Albert Ground, Melbourne recovered yesterday from 4/44 and 6/104 to post 217, with Will Pucovski (38), skipper Jon Huddart (31) and Chris Janik (32) all making handy lower order contributions.

9/211 overnight, Melbourne was dismissed for 217 today. In reply, St Kilda began well, but lost three wickets quickly to be 3/44. Another recovery from Will Russell (37) and Jared Maxwell (23) lifted the total to 3/100 before Shane Giese (4/44) struck some crucial blows for the Demons. The St Kilda innings lost momentum, slumping to 6/102, 7/132 and 8/140 before Skurrie (22no), Calum Rayner (16) and Shea Gribben (12) fought it out, the Demons eventually dismissing St Kilda for 188, 30 runs short of victory.

In the Fourths at Geelong, the Camberwell Magpies innings of 165 was disappointing yesterday. Opener Sisitha Jayasinghe (52) batted well, but Uni skipper Laban Ditchburn (6/42) bowled superbly.

Melbourne Uni, in reply, virtually had the match under control overnight, at 3/155, with Ahilan Sivakumaran (98no) continuing his sensational form. He continued on today, finishing on 145 not out when play was finally halted. Sivakumaran's finals series comprised 150 in the Quarter Final against Geelong, 141 in the Semi Final against Melbourne and 145 in the Final against the Magpies. All three innings were not out.

It is the first time since 2003-04, when Pat O'Beirne scored centuries in all three finals for Melbourne Uni Thirds, that three successive tons have been registered in the finals series.

















Click here to view the archive »

Feedback Form